My 6th Gäubodenvolksfest!

I’m here!  Sorry for not posting last week, but it was celebration time here in Bavaria.  Many of you may know this time as Oktoberfest, State Fair or Volksfest.

In the beautiful city of Straubing, the Gäubodenvolksfest is held for 11 days in August.  Briefly the background is, the King of Bavaria organized this agricultural festival in 1812 as a way for people in the Danube region to meet up once a year.  They have been celebrating it ever since with only a brief interruption during the war.

It is the second largest festival in Bavaria, of course you may know that the “Oktoberfest” in Munich is number one.  Still, the Volksfest sees about 1.2 million visitors who come to enjoy the festivities and even dress up in the “traditional dress”, lederhosen & dirndls or trachten.

I did find this photo from 1912 – as you can see there was a bit of flooding that year from the Danube River, luckily they have pretty much contained that problem here now.

gaubodenfest-straubing-geschichte120~_v-img__16__9__l_-1dc0e8f74459dd04c91a0d45af4972b9069f1135
photo from br.de

Now on to this year! Let me briefly show you around.

095

The one thing we do very well in Germany is beer.  The local Karmeliten Brewery got my number one vote this year as the best tasting.

054

Yes, we drink beer in a maß. Basically a “big ass” mug of beer.  Delicious, I have to add.

img007

Luckily, we had a bus ticket which was good for the duration of the festival.  No biking home and the best part is our stop is right in front of our building.  How is that for service!

This is me waiting for said bus wearing the traditional dress.

022

100

(above) Hands down, the biggest and best tasting Pretzel in the whole fairgrounds.  Unbelievable, I was too busy eating it to take a picture of it.  But here is Leif holding up the first “bretze” Pretzel we bought during the fest.

015

Here are a few photos I took walking around the fairways.

068

073

Nope, those aren’t Amish girls,  that’s just our traditional dress. 🙂

There are tons of rides, roller coasters, kiddie rides and even one of the original rides makes an appearance every year.

092

Also games…

098

Love seeing my Country represented! 🙂

101

 

Yep, you can buy big pickles…

078

or ox meat sandwiches.

Corn on the cob…

075

Or sit in one of the many beer tents and be served…

079

087

while listening to the fabulous folk music during the day (or shlager and popular music in the evening).

060

Prost!

066

I am exhausted!  I haven’t even touched on half of what this festival offers. Although, I do call it the happiest time of year here in Germany.  I am so glad I live in the city that hosts this festival.

Finally, I leave you with a skyline view of Straubing from the ferris wheel.  I love my hometown!

052

 

Merken

Merken

2 thoughts on “My 6th Gäubodenvolksfest!

  1. Oh, Marianne, this is one of my favorite blog posts of yours ever! It was the next best thing to being there. You captured the fun, and I loved hearing the history! You look awesome in your garb! Thank you for sharing the spirit of Volksfest! Even though you’ve posted before about it, this made the festival come alive for me. Love you, Sis!

    Like

    1. Thankyou, I am so glad you enjoyed it Lynne! As you know, it is one of my favorite times of the year here. Maybe one of these years you will get to experience it first hand 😉 xo

      Like

Please, share your thoughts!

