Baking · Books · Recipes

Chocolate Chip Cookies & Saving Grace

I just finished a wonderful book by Jane Green titled Saving Grace.  I LOVED this story!  I highly recommend reading this book.  Normally, I can figure out what is going to happen in a book, but It took me almost to the end of the story to do that.  It was suspenseful at times, romantic and I truly enjoyed the adventure of reading it.

A unique thing about this book, is she shared recipes throughout that pertained to some parts of the story.  There was only one other book that I read that did the same thing (another fabulous book, I will be sharing with you soon).

008

This recipe for  The Best Chocolate Chip Cookie caught my eye.  I honestly never even thought about trying a different version of a chocolate chip cookie.  I always just followed the recipe on the back of the chocolate chip package.  Can one really use chocolate chips in other recipes?! 😉

Recently, a friend of mine brought over two bags of chocolate chips which was so very sweet.  That is an item that is not sold where I live so it was really a treat to make these.

One other thing I found is I love recipes with the measurements in grams and celsius, since that is what is used in Europe.  It was nice not to have to do math and conversions.  Honestly, using a scale for measuring ingredients makes baking simpler and you know the measurements to be exact.

Here is the recipe I  from the book….

     Ingredients:

     200 g butter

     150 g white sugar

     120 g brown sugar

     2 eggs beaten

     2 teaspoons vanilla extract

     300 g plain flour

     1 teaspoon baking soda

     1 teaspoon salt

     320 g chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 180°C/gas mark 4.  In a large bowl cream together butter, white and brown sugars until pale and fluffy.  Add eggs, a little at a time, beating well with each addition.  Stir in vanilla.

Combine flour, salt and baking soda  Gradually stir into the creamed mixture  Finally, fold in the chips.

Place rounded spoonfuls  on a greased or silicone baking sheets.  Bake for 8 – 10 minutes until light brown.  Place on wire rack to cool.

The result: very easy to make and delicious cookies.

007

A tip – since there are only the two of us.  I rolled half of the dough and wrapped it in plastic wrap and put it in the freezer to bake another day.  Easy slice and bake.   I have no idea why I never thought of doing that before.

Anyways another awesome read and amazing cookies to boot.  If you are curious what other recipes she shares along with her story, you will just have to get the book. 😉

Happy reading & snacking!


This is not a sponsored post.  All are opinions are entirely my own.

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Chip Cookies & Saving Grace

      1. Yum!!! But I think I’ll stick to the recipe on the back of the package since I don’t have a scale and the utensils to measure grams, etc…. haha! Love you, Sis!

        Liked by 1 person

Please, share your thoughts!

