Introducing, the first…Travel Tip Tuesday

Travel Tip Tuesday

It is time for the first ever edition of “Travel Tip Tuesday!

This is a simple post where I will share a travel tip of mine.  Considering I have been traveling for the past 42 years, I have plenty to share.  (Am I really that old?! Wow!) Originally I considered writing a blog post that would contain all my tips, but I thought it would be a bit long and get a bit boring, so…. let’s begin.

Probably my first and most important tip I have learned and not too easily at that is:

*Have Patience*

Know that connections will be missed at one time or another, weather can not always be predicted and delays do happen.  I have learned there are two ways to handle this problem.

Option One, be an ass, yell or get angry at the people who work at the airport or train station, complain to everyone around you and be miserable which in turn makes everyone miserable.  Remember, delays are not easy on the flight crew either.  They have homes and children to get back to as well.

or

Option Two, accept the fact that your trip is delayed and just enjoy the adventure.  Yes, I know all too well how hard and inconvenient a delay is.  Especially when you are traveling alone and haven’t slept in 30 hours, have really bad cramps (hopefully not tmi?)  and that the event you were traveling for will happen whether you get there or not.  It happens.  Remember, that those around you have a destination to get to as well, not just you.

Traveling is not just about getting to your destination on time, it’s about the journey, the adventure.  During delays, I have met and had some good conversations with very nice and interesting people, seen places that I hadn’t intended on visiting and rode in an old train from 1966 (the year I was born).  These are a few results from delays I have experienced.  And yes… I am embarrassed to admit I have taken the Option One way to handle a delay before, I am definitely not perfect when exhausted and in travel mode, but I have learned how to handle situations a bit better.

This is the best advice out of all I have to give anyone traveling.

Enjoy the delays, have patience and embrace your adventure!

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Please, share your thoughts!

