Very simple fall decor & two easy diy’s

“Fall has always been my favorite season. The time when everything bursts with its last beauty, as if nature has been saving up all year for the grand finale” – Lauren De Stefano

I couldn’t have described my favorite season of the year any better than that perfect quote.  That being said I do like to make seasonal decor changes in my home using items I have on hand.  Here are the three areas I changed out for this season.  Even though they don’t scream, “It’s Fall” with the all the typical fall colors found outdoors, I like the subtle touches inside.

This year, I have a new small sideboard cabinet in my dining area so it is the first time for this tablescape.  Now, before I show you this picture I have to tell you this room is still in the process of being made-over.  I plan on removing the border and painting the walls within the next two weeks.  I think a table runner would look nice on this cupboard and I have one that would add some nice texture, but thanks to Khaleesi, my two-year old cat, she loves to pull them off along with everything on it.   In fact, the acorn has been glued once already.

post23a

This brings us to the first DIY.  The candle holder.  As I was arranging the items, seeing what I liked best, I thought some height was needed and thought a pillar candle holder would be perfect.  I don’t have one, so I looked around my home and in my cupboard I have some of these glasses which I never use and decided they would be better put to use as a pillar candle holder.     Let’s go in for a closer look…

post23c

All I did was hot glue them together after making sure the one on top was clean with no prints on the inside.  Then, I glued a tart tin on top of that.

post23d

Next, I added some small stones I picked up on the beach along the nearby Danube River…

post23e

Then the beeswax candle with a little bee pin.  The candles are made locally and last a long time.

Next, the coffee table in my living room.

046-2

Everything I had on hand.  The book, I reversed the cover because I wanted a white book.  Three metal decor leaves, you can’t really tell but the one on top is gold color.  Again, one of those glasses like the candle holder with stones in the bottom, and I just love my pink rose so I did not change it out.  My squirrel figurine, which has a funny story which of course I am going to share right now.  The city I live in does not have squirrels.  Coming from Michigan, I got used to the furry tailed critters running around the neighborhood and I liked them.  My first time sitting outside in my new home, I noticed that there are no squirrels around.  Well, one day when we were out shopping, we found this cute squirrel.  I kinda like his little face in my home.

The crystal dish is a sentimental piece and I always keep it on display.  It was used in the baptism of both of my children, so it holds a special place in my heart.  When I see it, it fills me with joy and good memories of my babies which are now beautiful and amazing adults. I filled it with silver beads and white rose petals.  The rest, are just items I have and like.  Thankfully, Khaleesi is bored with this table.

On to my last bit of decor, if you can call it that, in my bathroom.

038-2

No, you are not looking at in a mirror but now….

040-2

you are.

This is also a work in progress area in my bathroom.  I plan on adding a small shelf on the left, eventually.  I noticed that our mirror faces straight across this to space on the wall in our bathroom/laundry room.  This leads me to the second DIY.  A dry erase board.  All I did was whitewash a frame I had.  I then cut out a piece of craft paper and glued it to the back part of the frame and with a dry erase pen…. well, you get the idea.

The only money I spent was on the craft paper and I needed that for other projects too.

That is it for my little touches of fall in my home for this year.  I believe it is important to incorporate items that bring you joy into your decor.  I do plan on sharing natural fall decor outdoors as well.  Just waiting for the final burst of nature to make its appearance here.

Happy Fall!

Merken

3 thoughts on “Very simple fall decor & two easy diy’s

  1. I always love to see your clever ideas! I had forgotten you don’t have squirrels. We have a few dozen extra, shall I ship them? Haha. Love your use of the glasses to make a pillar candle holder, and of course the fact that it is beeswax and has a bee pin! Beautiful arrangements, as always. Love you and miss you!

    Like

    1. Yes…please do send some squirrels my wasy lol Supposedly, the Northern part of Germany does have a few but I have no idea why they don’t migrate south! You know, I was thinking you might just like these candles and especially the bee. 🙂 xo

      Like

Please, share your thoughts!

