The perfect meal for a cool autumn day.

In Bavaria, we have definitely succumbed to the cooler temperatures of my favorite season, autumn.  I love the crisp, fresh smelling air.  The warmth of the colors and a cold nose, it is a perfect combination.  Although it can get very chilly once that sun goes down for the evening, what better way to warm our bellies then with a hearty  Shipwreck Stew and homemade biscuits.

012

Two things I must share with you about this meal.  First, it is very inexpensive to make, wonderfully filling and healthy even.  Depending on your family size, you will have enough leftover to freeze for another meal or have to eat the next evening.

Secondly, I have to share with you how I came about this stew recipe.  I grew up with it.  My mom made it often, probably because it is very budget friendly, and when one has a large family, it is nice to have a lot go a long way.

Recently, my mom asked me what I was making for dinner and I told her, Shipwreck Stew.  She loves hearing that I make many of the dishes that she used to make.  She then went on to tell me how she found this recipe.  The story goes back to 1945.  She found this recipe in newspaper and thought it sounded like a good meal to try.  Well, it has stuck around the family this long, I think she found a winner.

Here is what you need to make this delicious stew:

002

Brown 1 pound hamburger with salt, pepper, onion & about 2 tablespoons chilli powder.  Drain.  Add 1 can each of red kidney beans, tomatoes and tomato paste (6 ounce can).  Add 4 or 5 diced potatoes.  Simmer about 2 hours or until potatoes are done.  Remove from stove and add 1/2 a cup of cooked rice and let it heat through about 5 more minutes.  Of course, feel free to adjust the spiciness to your taste.

This makes about 6 servings.  The original recipe read to serve with crackers.

019

I made some homemade biscuits while the stew was simmering, which in my opinion was the perfect addition.  This is also a great recipe for a slow cooker.  Just prepare the ingredients the night before. Then in the morning, add them to your crock pot, pop on low heat before you head out the door and you will come home to a welcoming smell, as well as a delicious and hearty dinner ready to eat.

If I may, my wine recommendation (if you do enjoy an occasional glass of wine with dinner) is a Bordeaux.  The dry, Oakie flavor seems to compliment this dish very well.

Merken

Merken

Please, share your thoughts!

