Coffee Chat · DITL

Weekend Recap & chatty stuff

Well, I am back from celebrating my birthday in Holland.  To say I had a wonderful time is an understatement!  It is a memory that I will cherish forever.  As this wasn’t really “traveling” but more like visiting, I sadly do not have many photos to share.  Also, the one day we visited the Wildlands (which is an adventure zoo in Emmen) it was so cold outside that I had issues with the lens of my camera steaming up.

079

I didn’t add any effects to this photo.  So, I put the camera away and just enjoyed the day.

Another of the highlights from my trip was shopping in the city of Groningen.  If you don’t know me,  I have a deep dark secret.  I love makeup, especially MAC.  I haven’t bought any since living over here as it costs twice the price in Europe.  But…. because of my birthday, I was spoiled…

My husband took so much video of this trip.  I am wondering out loud, if I shouldn’t make a YouTube channel to share all the videos in the future?  Hmmm….  He loves to do the videos and I love to take the photos.  We make a good pair, don’t we?!

We also got to see an old steam train while we were waiting to board our connection in Nuremberg.  It was so beautiful, iconic and loud!  I don’t have a good photo as it was dark out, but my husbands video is pretty cool.

023

So that was my weekend and since I have been back I finished the final de-clutter project in our home.  I know, I probably should have shared that too.

I have brought up all the christmas decor from the cellar and am working on making our home holiday ready.

On a not so happy note, while we were away,  our city hall, which was over 600 years old burned down.  So devastating!  Thankfully no one was hurt! Here is a rooftop view looking into the building from the newspaper.

15181168_10202071614947577_4358575491869499073_n

One thing I love about living here is the rich history of many of the buildings and the architecture.  We will be heading into the city later today as our Christkindlemarkt opens tonight.  I don’t know how festive it will seem this year with the empty shell of our “Rathaus” looming over the square.  But… I will let you know.

I think or rather, I know I will be sharing a bit more on this blog about “my days” in the coming year.  I still am on the fence though about “vlogging” on YouTube.  Let me know your thoughts on that, I could really use a little imput.

Well, I need to get a move on as the beautiful sun is rising,  so must I.

 

Merken

Merken

Please, share your thoughts!

