Baking

Quick chocolate chip muffins

choc-chip-muffins-2

Tuesday evening, I was talking to a friend an invited her over the next morning for coffee, a good “natter” as she calls it.  Translated, that means coffee & chatting with friends, about anything or everything.  I didn’t give much thought to what little thing I would bake to go with the coffee till later that evening.  There was a honey muffin recipe I wanted to try that I found in an old vintage cookbook.  Yup… I tried it and it was a total flop!

While I was washing up the dishes I was trying to figure out what I could bake with the ingredients I had on had.  The stores were closed by now (yes everything closes by 8 pm during the week).  Even if they were open the temperature was -14 Celsius, I wasn’t too enthusiastic about bundling up and heading out on foot, in the cold in the dark to buy butter and more eggs.

My last-minute solution is always to run to the bakery on the corner first thing in the morning and pick up a delectable treat but of course I had to stay home to wait on a delivery.   Isn’t it always something?

The next morning came, and I still did not have an idea of what I could bake.  I really need to go shopping and replenish a few items in my pantry too.  My mess of recipes had failed me so I headed over to google and typed, muffins, easy, few ingredients and voila!  There it was!  The recipe that I would bake.   Allrecipes has saved my coffee chat!  I only had 2 hours now.  The only ingredients I altered was the last part.  The recipe says to sprinkle a mix of brown sugar and sugar to the top of the muffins.  Since the brown sugar available in Europe is a slightly different consistency than in America, I just stuck with the brown sugar.

The muffins were really moist and delicious.  I nice accompaniment to coffee.  Here is the link to the recipe.

I will definitely be adding this muffin recipe to my recipe box/binder/folder, which ever way I come up with to organize them.

So… we went on to enjoy a good “natter”,  as they say in England.

name

Save

Save

Save

Save

Please, share your thoughts!

