Random

The Kindness of Others

Sometimes when one least expects it, a random act of kindness occurs.  It is quite possible, God just knows when we need a little extra kindness in our lives.  I’m not going to question why, just enjoy the feeling this particular act brought out.   Here is what happened, the sweet deed that truly opened my eyes in a way I never could have imagined.

It has to do with the photo above.  I nanny part-time for an english speaking family.  It was one of those jobs that just happened.  Interestingly enough, as a young teen, I babysat often.  As an adult, I ran a private day care.  I have always enjoyed helping parents by watching their children and I finally learned one of the reasons why.

One of the young girls I watch, told her Mom that she wanted to get me a “present”.  She used her own money and biked to the market, took her findings home, to create a gift for me.   Handmade with beautiful spring flowers in a pretty wood container that she decorated herself.  After they dropped my beautiful gift off, I notice a little hand written card tucked inside.  She wrote a little note. It basically says how much she and her sibling love spending time with me.

How sweet is that? She didn’t have to do that.  There was no special occasion.  It truly melted my heart. I feel like this says a lot about the way she is being raised but I am not going to analyze what prompted her to do such a thing.  I am just thankful that I have this family in my life and that it opened my eyes to how I need to let go and not worry how others perceive me, something I have struggled with for a long time.  I tend to hold adults at a bit of a distance and not let thim totally “in” for fear of getting hurt.  I realized when I am with children I am truly myself.  When I am with adults I tend to try to always be impressing them.  Looking “perfect” and acting “perfect”, saying what I think people want to hear.  If I am acting, then I am not being myself.

All this learned from a homemade basket of flowers and a young girl that was just being kind.

2 thoughts on “The Kindness of Others

  1. I love this sweet story, Marianne! Through the eyes of a child… ❤ I bet this little girl wants to be just like you when she grows up! btw… I don't see a photo above. I see a photo of you in shades with a flower in the side bar. Not that it takes away from the story at all, just so you know as a blogger. Just so you know, too, I've always looked up to you even though I'm your big sis. And that's the truth! Love you!

    Like

    1. Thanks Lynne! Oh, I guess the photo is a thumbnail and is seen if you read the post on the blog, not through reader/email? Thanks for letting me know, I also added it to the main blog post now so it could be seen in other platforms. I was so touched by her thoughtfullness. I cant believe you looked up to me! I always looked up to you! love you too!

      Like

Please, share your thoughts!

