Garden Series

Garden Stories – Episode One: The Secret Garden

Spring has definitely made herself comfortable here in Lower Bavaria.  If you happened to read my previous post, I mentioned how I was going to tackle our garden  a.k.a. backyard.  I have and this is my progress so far.

This one area we have always had.  It is just a small flower bed up against the back of the house.  We have our table, chairs and barbecue in this area.  There really was not much for me to take on here.  As you can see everything is coming up nicely, with the exception of the lavender.  Still waiting to see if those will come around.  My succulent is doing amazing of course.  It always does.

This next area is in the opposite corner of the yard, and I wish I would have gotten a picture before I dug in removing 7 years of leaf and debris pile up and miles of ivy.  Oh, and one dead mouse (actually, truth be told, I had to have my husband remove that poor critter for me).

I was happy to find tulips and daffodils, just struggling for air to show their beautiful blooms.   This one made its way through the debris to welcome spring!

Here are more photos of this secret garden spot.  Some is cleaned out but  I still have much to uncover.

I was thrilled to find out there were raised flower beds along the perimeter.

This next picture is taken standing in the area I have already cleared.

Believe it or not, there is a  little pond in front of those trees on the left hand side.

I do hope to have most of it cleared this weekend.

Here is why this garden area is so important to me.  This winter, my husband showed me photos of this yard in all its glory.  His mom tended to this space, nurturing it.  She planted everything, even the trees I’ll show you in another update. I will scan some of the photos soon and share with you what this area used to look like.  Unfortunately, when she fell ill, the garden was neglected too.

We spend so much time outdoors in this yard and it has been such a shame to see it covered up.  She grew vegetables here as well.  I have noticed that tenants have thrown the dirt from empty flower pots in the past and grass has also covered much of the area.

It is a big job, and I don’t know much about gardening, but I want to honor her memory so much with this space.  I never got to meet  her.  I do feel as if I am getting to know this wonderful woman, who is my mother-in-law when I work in the yard.  Also, I really enjoy working in the yard.

I hope you’ll cheer me on, by coming back often to check on my progress.

 

Merken

Merken

One thought on “Garden Stories – Episode One: The Secret Garden

  1. How exciting to come across surprise flowers! Love seeing your tulip bud and the sunny daffodil face! We have only crocus here so far, and hyacinth buds. We got lots of rain yesterday and expect more today, and it will be warming up a bit this weekend, so hopefully soon our flowers will start peaking their faces here. I look forward to seeing all you unearth! What a beautiful way to honor your mother-in-law. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Please, share your thoughts!

