DITL · Life Abroad

Fresh from the farm – a day in the life

Standard items on our grocery list are milk, butter, bread and eggs.  I thought today I would share our preferred way to pick up these items.

Now, we don’t do this often in the winter months as it is a 3.5 kilometer bike ride each way, but for the next three seasons we enjoy doing this.

My bike basket full of freshness from the farm & bakery.

Yes, you read that right, I bike for those four items because they are fresh from the farm.  With the exception of the bread, this time we stopped at a bakery on the way home.  You have to get there very early in the morning if you want to get any of the fresh-baked bread.

It doesn’t cost much more than going to the store.  The exception is the eggs were picked fresh that morning, the cows were milked then too.  The butter is homemade. The difference in taste is very noticeable.  I figure even with the extra fat in the milk, it is healthier for you.  On a side note, we do pasteurize the milk at home.  It is such an easy process, I don’t even have to think about it anymore.  Although, many of the people I know do not do this and they haven’t had any issues.

Here is a look at the butter.

Just simple and quite old-fashioned.

We usually ride out on saturday mornings to the farm.   The ride is so relaxing as half of the way is along the Danube River.

Just another day in our life … in Bavaria.

 

Merken

2 thoughts on “Fresh from the farm – a day in the life

  1. Wow, I’d love to know how to pasteurize milk! We get farm fresh eggs from a buddy of Fred’s. I love that they come in various colors depending on what the chickens free-ranged on. It’s like an Easter basket to open a new carton… and the yolks are such a beautiful deep color rather than the pale yellow of older, “factory” produced, store bought eggs. We buy Amish butter, and that is farm fresh, too. Loved reading about your bike trip along the Danube to pick up your farm-fresh items! xo Lynne

    Like

    1. I never would have dreamed I would be doing this either! Pasteurizing milk is so easy. I sterilize the bottles in about a 130 C oven about 10 minutes. For the milk, I use the same process as “scalding” milk. You have to keep stiring though. Once it is in the scalding phase I stir about 5 minutes then remove it from the heat while still stirring for a bit longer, than pour it into the glass jars. I then put the jars into a sink full of cold water, just because I don’t want to put a hot jar of milk into the refrigerater. There are so many articles I read about this process and they vary with times and temps. We have never gotten sick from our milk, so I will stick with this way. Isn’t it so true about the deep color of the egg yolks with fresh eggs? That is great that you are able to get them fresh! xo

      Like

Please, share your thoughts!

