Joining the Chaotic Cooking Challenge – Cookbook Pick

I am guessing many have seen the movie Julie & Julia?  Yes, it is one of my favorite movies of all time.  Possibly because I adore Julia Childs.  If you have not seen it, basically it as about a woman named Julie who blogs her way through Julia’s cookbook, Mastering the art of french cooking, recipe by recipe.  This movie is what I thought of when I read the words cook-through challenge.

Just recently, I was reading a blog, Mary’s Chaotic White Space , and she thought about doing a “cook-through” one of her cookbooks and opening it up to all.  What a great idea and I can’t believe I never thought about doing this on my own before!

 

What it entails, is the first day of every month, she will provide a category in a blog post, “then challenge each of the participants who are following along to look through their book for recipes which could be included in that particular category and choose the ones to make in their own kitchen.” I should mention before hand, we are to pick the book we are choosing to cook through.

I have very difficultly picked my book.  It was not easy as I treasure all my cookbooks, in fact I have gone back or forth between using my mother-in-laws vintage german cookbook.  That would be a great challenge as it is vintage and written in german but I have a hard enough time reading modern-day german still.  It is something I want to do at my own leisurely pace so I decided to go with a newer book of mine although not a new book by any means.

I had been obsessed with the Betty Crocker’s Picture Cookbook for years.  It was only the end of last year when my husband tracked it down for me in England of all places.

As my favorite decades are the 1940’s & 1950’s, I  am excited to choose this book for my cook-through.  Along with the challenge of the cook-through, will be the challenge of finding like ingredients, if needed, here in Germany.  Although, I have been doing that for the past 6 years so it shouldn’t be too much of a problem.

If this sounds like something you would be interested in doing or just following along with, please join us.  Go to Mary’s awesome blog and join in the challenge!  I am looking forward to seeing what cookbooks others choose and the recipes they pick and their experiences.

On the first day of every month I will tweet the category chosen by Mary, using #chaoticcookthrough  and then share my pick and my experiences in making the recipe, the following weeks Friday,  here on my blog.

If this sounds like something you would like to participate in or just want to enjoy reading about others’ cook-through experiences, head over to Mary’s blog so you don’t miss any updates.

Also be sure to subscribe to my blog so you don’t miss my chosen recipes for this cook-through challenge.

I hope you will join us.  I wonder what the first category will be?

Merken

Merken

Merken

12 thoughts on “Joining the Chaotic Cooking Challenge – Cookbook Pick

  1. Yayyy! I’m going to join you and have notified Mary! I love her blog, too. She’s in much the same place I am at this point in life. Now to choose my cookbook. I was struck by how appropriate it is that you are both into vintage cookbooks, and I have some myself! I’ll keep you posted… xo

    Liked by 2 people

Please, share your thoughts!

