Asparagus, Basil & Parmesan Pasta (not your mothers asparagus)

Before I get to the pasta dish at hand I must share a very short story.  I hate asparagus.  Plain and simple.  The end.

I have memories of that side dish served up at dinner which looked like sad little wilted trees and  tasted like them too.  Not that I ever have eaten wilted trees.  I never tried it again until….of course you knew I would say, “until moving to Germany”.

Now for the updated version of that very short story.  Every spring, one of the local farmers has a little stand across the street from my house.  (how convenient is that?) When I learned he only sold fresh picked asparagus and strawberries, well,  I gagged.  Two things I do not eat.  My husband promised me that I would like it.

I told him my story (above) about what I thought about this vegetable and he said he, never ate it like that.  For my first introduction to the vegetable I only previous knew as “wilted tress”, he cooked white asparagus by boiling and adding sugar and butter to the water.  Served it up with boiled potatoes, rolled ham cold cuts and hollandaise sauce.  It was absolutely delicious.  I was so ready to make my standard “eww face” with the first bite, but found I did not need to.  I genuinely enjoyed that meal.

Since that first meal of asparagus, I have found many different recipes for this new-found (to me) veggie that I really do like in springtime.  White or green, it doesn’t matter.

Here is my favorite way to eat asparagus.  I mean… isn’t everything better with pasta anyways?

Asparagus, Basil & Parmesan Pasta Recipe

250 grams white asparagus

250 grams green asparagus

300 grams spaghetti noodles

80 grams fresh grated parmesan cheese

a few of springs fresh basil

sea salt

fresh black pepper

Directions: Peel asparagus and cut into thirds. Make sure to cut off the tough ends. In lightly boiling saltwater, blanch then plunge into cold water.

Cook spaghetti according to package directions.

In a frying pan, melt butter then add the asparagus. Saute about 2 minutes. Then add the pasta, salt and pepper to taste and toss through about 2 more minutes.

Plate and top each serving with a good amount of parmesan and basil.

My wine recommendation (if you will) is a nice chilled, dry Riesling.

Enjoy!

Click here to print this recipe.   Asparagus basil and parmesan pasta

Merken

Merken

4 thoughts on “Asparagus, Basil & Parmesan Pasta (not your mothers asparagus)

  1. Ooooo, we LOVE asparagus, but have never eaten it prepared any way except steamed or roasted. Can’t wait to try this recipe! I’m thinking Caelan might even like it! He likes it in frittata, but not if he can see it whole. We’ll try it this week, and I’ll let you know! xo

    Like

Please, share your thoughts!

