A Quick Dessert – Chocolate Chip Honey Squares

I really do bake every week.  First of all, I find it quite relaxing, the  measuring of ingredients, mixing and creating something that smells and tastes delicious.  (If all goes as planned.)  I have learned discipline and can actually just eat one of something.  This is a newly learned trait though.  My husband likes to have cakes or cookies in the house and enjoys dessert most evenings.  Extras, I give away.

So at the beginning of the week I always make sure to bake something.  Sometimes, by the end of the week, the cookie jar or cake plate has barely a crumb left so I find myself looking at the ingredients I have on hand and finding or making up something to bake.

That is a long introduction to this recipe, which I found in my Fantastic Fifties cookbook.

It was a first time for making this recipe and I must admit, I was a bit leary at the thick consistency which looked like this.

Of course it wasn’t until after I popped the pan in the oven that I realized I had used a thick type of honey.  I will try these again using normal honey and see if there is a difference.

All in all they came out very delicious!

The recipe called for nuts, but I didn’t have any.  Also, since it was just a small recipe, it was the perfect amount. Oh, and if you are wondering, if I actually sift my flour? If a recipe calls for it I do.  (I will be talking about this topic in a future post even.)

To make Chocolate-Chip Honey Squares, here is what you will need.

  • 1/2 cup sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1 egg, well beaten
  • 1 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1 package semi-sweet chocolate pieces
  • 3/4 cup chopped nuts
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

The Directions:  Sift flour, baking soda and salt together.  Combine honey and egg; mix well.  Add butter, chocolate, nuts and vanilla.  Mix well.  Add sifted ingredients and beat thoroughly.  Turn into greased 8″x 8″ pan.  Bake in moderate oven (350°F.) 30-45 minutes.  Cut into squares.

Serving size:  about 24

Recipe from: The Fantastic Fifties Cookbook (1,000 classic recipes by Mary Margaret McBride)

To print this recipe, click the link:  Chocolate-Chip Honey Squares

Merken

4 thoughts on “A Quick Dessert – Chocolate Chip Honey Squares

  1. Oooo, you know we’re always looking for recipes with honey in them! And perfect for our size family. I’ll be trying it and I’ll let you know, but I’m sure we’ll love them. Thanks! xo

    Liked by 1 person

  2. You had me at “quick”. Gotta love it when a recipe isn’t super complicated and just straightforward. I love the idea of adding honey, I bet that makes ’em nice and sweet (maybe even chewy?). Great spin on the regular chocolate chip cookie. Thanks for sharing.

    Would you be interested in sharing recipes with our community of passionate foodies? We’re always on the lookout for fun, new and delicious recipes like this one. You can find us right over here: https://www.facebook.com/groups/OnlyGoodEats

    Like

    1. It’s true, this recipe takes quite a bit less time the the regular chocolate chip cookie and yes, they were slighlty chewy, which most likely was because of the honey. I would be happy to check out your facebook group. Thanks. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Please, share your thoughts!

