My first recipe in the Chaotic Cooking-Through Challenge! (Fancy Chicken Salad)

I am thrilled to share my first recipe in Mary’s Chaotic Cooking-Through Challenge!  If you aren’t quite sure what I am talking about, you can read all about it here.  Basically, she choose’s a category each month and we have to cook or bake recipes from that category for the entire month.  The amount we choose to make is up to the participant.  I plan on sharing a recipe weekly.  Oh, I almost forgot!   The category for this month is Salads &  Salad Dressings. I knew you would want to know!

To refresh your memory, I chose to cook from the Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook (1950).

As soon as I found out what the category was, I started reading the section on salads.  Did you know there is even “Salad Etiquette” according to Mrs. Crocker?  Who would have known!  I will share many of the extras I have been learning throughout May as well.

Okay, enough chatter!   On to the recipe I chose to cook today.  From page 316 of the cookbook, Chicken Salad.  Also considered “An All-American favorite.”

I absolutely love chicken salad in the summer but never made it from a recipe before.  So let’s get started… it seems easy enough.

My ingredients, ready to mix.

Next, I decided to be as authentic as I could to serving the chicken salad as the recipe suggests.

Yes, I actually served this for my husbands lunch!  He loved it by the way.  I have to admit, I wasn’t sure about making the tomato flower but it worked and I even had fun “playing with food” creating a nice presentation.

Here is a closer look at the chicken salad.

Keep or Toss?  Definitely a keeper.  I’ll be adding this recipe for chicken salad to my regulars, although, I can’t say I will display as such every time.

My Thoughts?  I think this would be a great recipe to serve at a ladies luncheon in the summertime.  You can make it up a few hours ahead of time and refrigerate until ready to serve.

See you next week with a new recipe from the Betty Crocker Picture Cookbook.


Anyone can join the cooking-through challenge!  You don’t have to have a blog, you can follow along at home.  Please feel free to link your recipe or share your cooking experience in the comments and don’t forget to head over to see what Mary is up to, the original source for this fun challenge!

If you would like, you can also follow along on Twitter @Happily_Mrs #chaoticcookthrough.

 

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

Merken

4 thoughts on “My first recipe in the Chaotic Cooking-Through Challenge! (Fancy Chicken Salad)

  1. It’s cool that you’re truly doing the recipes authentic to the 1950’s with the presentation which the book suggests. I’m sure you’re having fun! I can taste that yummy chicken salad already and I may try it myself. Some of the best recipes have so few ingredients and aren’t difficult to put together. 😊

    Like

    1. Thanks Mary. So true – I think possibly that is why women paid so much attention to how it looked on the plate in those days,because it was so simple to make. 🙂

      Like

Please, share your thoughts!

