Dinners · Recipes

A new casserole idea- asparagus, turkey, bacon & hollandaise sauce

We are well into our asparagus season here as you may know, if you read my “Not your mothers asparagus” post.  I love finding new ways to cook  seasonal vegetables other than serving them as a steamed or sautéed side dish, not that there is anything wrong with those.

I do have to give my husband credit for finding this new recipe in the paper.  It did not have exact measurements, just the ingredients and cooking temperature, that’s all.

So, kicking into creative cooking gear, I put on my apron and took a stab at making this casserole.

Here are my ingredients:  Turkey schnitzel, white asparagus tips, bacon, and hollandaise sauce and some water for half way through the cooking.

I put the turkey in the bottom and I did spray the dish first with a little vegetable oil, peeled the asparagus of course and wrapped them in the bacon strips.

Next, I added the hollandaise sauce.

I then baked it in a 180 C degree oven (or 350 F) for half an hour. At that point,  I added about 1/3 cup water over the top, covered it in foil and baked 20 more minutes.

I served it up with some rosemary baked little potatoes and you know what?

It was absolutely delicious!  The turkey tender, bacon crisp and asparagus very tender.

We decided to add this recipe to my growing card file of recipes.

It is so nice when a recipe actually turns out not only edible but tasty too!

Merken

2 thoughts on “A new casserole idea- asparagus, turkey, bacon & hollandaise sauce

  1. Yum! I can’t wait to try this! I’m amazed how big your asparagus is! I go for slim stalks because they tend to be more tender… of course, they are green asparagus, so maybe that makes a difference. We don’t see white asparagus around here much. I’ll keep my eye open for it, though. 🙂 Another great way to cook asparagus is to roast it. We drizzle a bit of balsamic vinegar on it, too. We roast most any vegetable! One of our favorite meals is just an assortment of roasted vegetables – beets, parsnips, carrots, turnips… whatever we have! xo

    Like

    1. Is it big? Its just what they seem to grow in the fields around here, sometimes it depends on how quickly we get to the farmers stand in the morning as to what color asparagus we get. Even the green seems quite thicker then what I rememember it to be though. Roasted would be great too, I haven’t don that yet, sometimes we do it on the grill that way with a touch of balsamic vinegar, sea salt and olive oil. We do the assortment of veggies too but usually added to pasta or rice. Who would have guessed one could have so much fun with vegetables? lol-x

      Like

Please, share your thoughts!

